DWI Attorneys Cedar Park TX | Top-Rated Lawyers | 98% Success Rate

DWI Attorneys Cedar Park

Our Cedar Park DUI & DWI Attorneys Are Focused On Results

The Hull Firm was founded in 2003 with a goal to be the top DWI & criminal law firm in Central Texas. With over 40 years of combined experience fighting for the people of Texas, we are proud to be the most trusted and proven DWI law firm in Cedar Park, TX.

With a 98% success rate, you have the confidence of knowing we have the best team behind you to get your DUI & DWI case resolved.

Don’t get caught off guard with a DUI / DWI —our award-winning Cedar Park attorneys are here for you every step of the way. From the day you hire us, we will come prepared with the knowledge and facts necessary to ensure the best possible results for your case.

Confidence IS The Hull Firm

Our team is dedicated to creating a strategic defense, customized for you and aimed at securing the best possible outcome for your case.

Call us now for your free DWI & DUI case evaluation today.

Our Experienced DWI Attorneys Protecting Your Future!

Call The Hull Firm today at 512-599-9999 for your free case review. We are your Cedar Park DWI Law Firm here to help you with your DWI and DUI needs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Charged for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in Cedar Park, Texas? 

You can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI Cedar Park) if you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher or operating a motor vehicle without your mental or physical faculties. An arrest for DWI in Texas has several factors that contribute to the arrest and prosecution of the case. This includes the fact that you can be arrested for a DWI even if you have not consumed any alcohol or drugs. Section 49.01 of the Texas Penal Code defines “intoxicated” as: not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances into the body; or having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more. The State can request a toxicology report to examine the blood that was drawn. In short, if you have taken drugs but have not consumed alcohol, you can still be charged with a DWI.

Immediately after being arrested for DWI in Cedar Park, Texas, many clients ask, “Is a DWI a felony in Texas?”. The short answer is yes. However, the arrest is simply the beginning of the process.

What Happens to your Driver’s License when Receiving a DWI Charge?

If you are arrested for Driving While Intoxicated, your driver license may be suspended under the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Program. This process is a civil administrative process that is not related to the criminal court case. The ALR Program may result in a suspension of your license regardless of the outcome of your criminal case. Your license may be suspended even if your charges are dismissed, or you are found not guilty at trial.

The arresting officer will confiscate your driver’s license and will give you a temporary driving permit. Your driver’s license will be suspended approximately 40 days after the date of arrest. If you volunteer a breath or blood sample, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. If the officer gets a warrant for your blood, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days.

Texas DWI Laws dictate that if you are arrested and refuse and/or fail a breathalyzer/blood test, you will receive notice that your Texas driver’s license will be suspended. From the date of this notice, you have 15 days to request a DWI Driver’s License Hearing. If you fail to request a DWI Driver’s License Hearing, the suspension automatically begins on the 40th day after the notice has been served, which is typically 40 days after the date of your arrest.

You have 15 days to request an Administrative License Review hearing. This is a civil hearing that takes place at the State Office of Administrative Hearings. This hearing is only about your driver’s license suspension and has nothing to do with your criminal case. At this hearing, the state is required to prove 2 things:

  1. That you were driving; and
  2. That you had ANY alcohol in your system.

If you gave a breath or blood sample, those results will be available for this hearing. If you did not give a breath or blood sample, but admitted to drinking any alcohol, the state will use those admissions to prove that you were drinking.

It is essential the request for the DWI Driver’s License Hearing is submitted prior to the 15-day deadline. If the request is submitted past the 15-day time period, the hearing will be denied.

The hearing can take up to 120 days to be scheduled. The hearing consists of the several steps:

  1. The Department of Public Safety must submit an arrest report to the presiding judge.
  2. The police report will be admitted as evidence without testimony or the arresting officer will be present (if subpoenaed by the accused).
  3. The accused can provide the facts of the case to the hearing officer and fight the suspension of the driver’s license.
  4. The presiding judge will then review the case and rule on the validity of the suspension.

The Hull Firm provides representation at the hearing for our clients, including discovery requests, review of available video/audio, identifying flaws in the case and ultimately fighting to retain your driving privileges.

What happens when my license gets suspended? How can I keep driving if I receive a DWI in Cedar Park?

You can get an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL). There are requirements and restrictions though. To obtain an ODL, you will need to acquire an abstract of your driving record, an SR-22 and a copy of a pay stub or sign an affidavit stating that you need an ODL to go work or school. Keep in mind, there are requirements and restrictions.

What is an SR-22 with regard to a Cedar Park DWI Charge?

An SR-22 is a particular type of insurance. This insurance is required by law if you have an Occupational Driver’s License. If you already have insurance for your vehicle, you are still required by law to get the SR-22. Most insurance providers can issue an SR-22. The form certifies that an individual has obtained the minimum liability insurance required by Texas law. Your insurance provider will automatically notify the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) when an SR-22 is cancelled, terminated or lapses.

Our Experienced DWI Attorneys Protecting Your Future!

Call The Hull Firm today at 512-599-9999 for your free case review. We are your Cedar Park DWI Law Firm here to help you with your DWI and DUI needs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

DUI vs DWI in Cedar, Texas

While most people use DWI and DUI interchangeably, these are actually two separate legal terms with their own separate sets of laws. In Texas, the biggest distinction between the two is age. No matter which one you are being charged with, it is essential to make sure you have representation. If you are facing a case and would like a FREE case evaluation, please contact The Hull Law Firm – we are DUI / DWI attorneys in Cedar Park with a 98% Success Rate and top-rated in the State of Texas.

DWI

Driving while intoxicated means you can have alcohol in your system while driving, but cannot be intoxicated. According to Texas DWI laws, the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent. Anything above that limit is considered intoxicated. This limit only applies to anyone 21 years and older.

It is important to note that due to Texas’s zero-tolerance policy regarding alcohol-impaired driving, a driver can be arrested and charged even if their BAC is below the legal limit.

DUI

When found with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system, a driver under the age of 21 will be charged with driving under the influence. A driver does not need to be visibly impaired for an arrest to happen. In the state of Texas, it is legal for persons under the age of 21 to consume alcohol with a parent present, but it is not legal for them to operate a vehicle after alcohol consumption.

Being under 21 does not exempt a driver from being charged with a DWI. In certain cases, a driver can be charged with both DUI and DWI.

Penalties

Another distinction between DWI and DUI is the penalties involved.

DWI Penalties:

  • At least 72 hours jail time/ 6 days if driver is in possession of an open container of alcohol.
  • With first conviction, Driver’s license suspended 90 days to one year.
  • Subsequent convictions are another 18 months suspension.
  • Possible completion of alcohol education program.
  • Fine- Up to $5,000.
  • Fine- Up to $8500 if 2nd DWI is within 36 months of 1st, or up to $10,000 if BAC is over .15

DUI:

  • No Jail time for first conviction/ subsequent offenses will receive jail time.
  • With first conviction, Driver’s license suspended minimum of 60 days.
  • Subsequent convictions are 120 days or more of suspension.
  • Possible required probation, community service, and alcohol education program.
  • Fine- up to $500

Penalties increase when the driver is charged with other alcohol-related crimes. Such crimes might include: open container in a moving vehicle, driving intoxicated with a child under 15 years, intoxicated assault, and intoxicated manslaughter.

A driver is always entitled to a hearing. It is especially important to have an experienced Texas DWI laws lawyer advocating for you and your future. Don’t do this alone, let The Hull Firm stand by you.

Our Experienced Attorneys Protecting Your Future!

Call The Hull Firm today at 512-599-9999 for your free case review. We are your Austin DWI Attorney here to help you with your DWI and Criminal Defense needs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Providing Client-Centric Criminal Defense in Austin, Texas

Texas DWI Arrests

Learn More

Controlled Substances

Learn More

Assault & Battery

Learn More

Possession of Marijuana

Learn More

Start Your FREE Case Evaluation

Call The Hull Firm today at 512-599-9999 for your free case review. We are your Austin DWI Attorney here to help you with your DWI and Criminal Defense needs 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

Phone: 512.599.9999
Email: info@thehullfirm.com

1004 West Ave Austin, TX, 78701
Map It

Who We Are

Founded in 2003, we are a highly-rated, award-winning DWI & Criminal Defense firm. The Hull Firm has represented thousands of businesses and individuals over the years in many types of civil and criminal litigation.

Learn More