Possession of Marijuana
Marijuana is an herb used for its medicinal and abused for its addictive properties. It is known by many names, like smoke, pot, weed, ganja etc. It is used in many forms, sometimes smoked in pipes, like cigarettes or vaporized. It is also common to mix marijuana with edibles like brownies or candies. The active chemical in marijuana is Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) which gives marijuana its mind-alerting properties and gives the consumer a feeling of euphoria.
Although marijuana can be used for medicinal purposes, it is a crime in Texas to have and/or use marijuana. Possession of marijuana is a state crime demanding punishment by the law.
Punishments for Possession of Marijuana in Texas
The State of Texas has very strict laws for the possession of marijuana. According to the Texas Penal Code, the possession of marijuana can be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the amount possessed.
|2 oz or less
|2 – 4 oz
|4 oz to 5 lbs
||180 days* – 2 years
|5 – 50 lbs
||2* – 10 years
|50 – 2000 lbs
||2* – 20 years
|More than 2000 lbs
||5* – 99 years
What should you do when involved in possession case?
You should always hire an attorney that can speak on your behalf. The extent of punishment depends on the circumstances of the arrest, the amount in possession and the criminal history of the accused. If your case is difficult and/or complicated, an experienced attorney can always help formulate the proper defense.
Seek Legal Help
It is always important to hire professionally licensed attorney when you are facing a possession of marijuana case. Conviction for possession will result in a permanent criminal record, hefty fines and potential jail time. A defendant should always find an experienced attorney to handle their case.